Gu Brew review

I have a sensitive stomach and energy gels do not agree with me. Perhaps I have a picky palate too as most energy drinks leave my tongue feeling furry and me feeling queasy. I do not want to drink a artificial syrup, thank you very much.

However, being brave and managing to force some liquid sugar down my neck may have made my post half-marathon dehydration avoidable. (Read about my ‘feeling like death’ disaster here: https://livforrunning.wordpress.com/2015/09/20/california-part-ii/ )

If only there was a way of feeding my body more electrolytes without swallowing down disgusting syrups…

HURRAH. A friend introduced me to ‘Gu Brew tablets.’ You put a tablet in a glass / bottle of water, give it a minute to dissolve and then guzzle / sip away.

https://guenergy.com/shop/hydration-drink-tabs 

You can buy them fairly cheaply on Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/GU-Brew-Electrolyte-Tablets-Lemon/dp/B008823G2Q/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1451405949&sr=8-2&keywords=gu+brew+tablets

My favourite flavour is orange. Far from the plastic-y, artificial taste of some orange flavoured sports drinks, this version tastes light and resembles a diluted squash.

They are naturally sweet. Stevia is used as the sweetener, instead of an artificial sweetener like sorbitol, acesulfame potassium, or aspartame. If you’re a healthy, athletic person, putting chemicals into your body is never a great idea. Natural colours and flavours are used too.

Gu Brew gives you the salt your body needs. The Brew tablets use both sodium bicarbonate and sodium carbonate as sodium sources. More often, sports drinks are leaning towards these salt sources and away from sodium chloride (table salt) because they offer a less salty tasting result.

Each drink that you create contains 320 mg of sodium and 55 mg of potassium. These amounts line up nearly perfectly with what the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) recommends for an optimal electrolyte balance in a sports drink.

I highly recommend Gu Brew tablets, if like me you find sports drinks / energy gels hard to digest.

Now I always make up an orange Gu-Brew to drink in the hour leading up to a race or a hard training session. It helps to keep me focused and floods my legs with endless energy.

 

Run to get faster, run to get fitter, run to feel healthier.

All the best,

Liv

 

 

Leave a Reply

