My Top 5 tried and tested nutrition tips

Here are my top 5 tried and tested nutrition tips. Why not give them a go yourself? The extra banana an hour before a race might be the difference in scraping your new 10k PB? The chocolate milk may make you bounce back quicker for tomorrow’s session.
Of course, they might not all work for all of you. But they work for me! Please comment below to let me know how you get on…

1. Rise and shine to porridge
Porridge, in my opinion, is the best breakfast for a runner. Whether I’m training, racing or having a rest day – it’s always my go-to morning meal.
Why? It’s cheap, easy, tasty, filling and gives you bags of long lasting energy.
I make mine with semi-skimmed milk, honey and cinnamon.
You’ll often see ‘food bloggers’ showering their morning oats with 0% fat almond milk, chia seeds and goji berries. But I’m wanting good, honest fuel – not a weight loss programme.

2. Refuel with chocolate milk
This is my favourite. Not only does it taste good – it does you the world of good too.
Surely, a protein shake would be better though? Maybe not…
In three related studies, researchers compared the recovery benefits from drinking chocolate milk post-exercise to plain water and branded sports drinks. In high-endurance athletes, the results showed that a post-workout chocolate milk fix can result in:
Improved performance, quicker exercise adaptation and better body composition. The 4:1 ratio of carbs to protein is ideal for replenishing tired muscles. Not bad for a childhood favorite.

3. Pasta, pasta, makes you run faster!
I always have a big bowl of pasta the night before a race / an unusually heavy training session. Not so big that I will feel sick, but always a bigger helping than usual. My fave pasta dishes are – something with pesto / Quorn spag bol / spicy tomato and red pepper. All topped with parmesan, of course!

4. The pre-race routine
If you’ve read my other posts you’ll know that my pre race routine consists of – Porridge two hours before (if I cut it any finer I’ll get a stitch / feel sick / feel sluggish).
A banana one hour before. Then I’ll sip on a sports drink with added electrolytes.

5. Treat yourself
Don’t by a large Dominoes every night but NEVER feel bad for having a chocolate brownie / bag of salty crisps / indian take away / an extra helping of Grandma’s rhubarb crumble with custard and double cream.
Social media is the devil for making only ‘healthy’ ‘whole foods’ seem acceptable.
Be smart and ignore it.
You’re an athlete not a dieter.
Eat / drink what your body craves and be faster / fitter / happier / stronger for it.

Run to get fitter, run to get faster, run to feel happier.

All the best,

Liv

One thought on “My Top 5 tried and tested nutrition tips”

Leave a Reply

